Sharing with Power.ME

You don’t have to be in kindergarten to know you are supposed to share with others. Today I’m going to remind you about and expound on one of the best features of Power.ME: sharing. It is so easy to share files with other Power.ME users, and you can share files with non-users as well.

Delegating

Power.ME’s task sharing feature is perfect for productive delegating. Often, you feel as though delegating will make you lose control over your project. Chris Skoyles, in a post about the benefits of delegating tells us, “When you let go of the reins and let others know you trust them, they’re likely to feel empowered. Empowered people feel like a valuable member of a team.” Task sharing lets you show your coworkers you trust them while keeping you in control. When you share a task with another Power.ME user, it is sent to their Power.ME inbox. New tasks and unorganized projects/folders that are shared go straight to the inbox. Then, when they log in to Power.ME and sync, the task will be immediately evident to them. You can specify start dates and due dates, allocate users responsible for the task, and add notes and comments to the task if there are specific elements you want the user to keep in mind while completing the task.

Team Room

You can also view shared tasks and projects/folders in the Team Room. Here you will see items that others have shared with you as well as those items you’ve shared with others. Content is divided into items that have been assigned to you and items you have assigned to others. The items you have shared are further divided according to who you shared them with. Team Room content can be navigated and edited the same way you navigate and edit unshared content, but a few safeguards have been built in. If you assign a task to someone, they cannot designate the task as “completed.” First, they mark the task with a white checkmark, and then you have the chance to review the task and determine if it is completed or not. This action allows you control over the quality of completed tasks. The other difference between editing shared and unshared content is that if you create an item and share it, others can only edit the notes and comments within the details of the item.

Sharing with Non-Registered Users

You can share files with non-registered Power.ME users as well. Power.ME will email them with a link to view the files. When non-registered users view a file you have shared, they also have the chance to register free for Power.ME on the same screen. Newly registered users will have 30 days of free access to the full version of Power.ME with Power.ME Sync & Share; after that, they will still be able to receive tasks from you, but they won’t be able to add their own tasks, projects , and documents unless they subscribe to Power.ME Sync & Share.

Specific scenarios where sharing could be useful for you:

  1. Business project: Share files, delegate tasks, and keep an open discussion going anywhere, anytime, allowing maximum flexibility with solid organization.
  2. Event planning: Communicate with other committee members by delegating tasks, sharing ideas/photos/links, and assigning due dates to items.
  3. Christmas shopping: Coordinate lists with a spouse or other family members in a private location on your laptop or mobile device, delegate who buys what, arrange tasks by proximity, so if your husband is at the linen store, he can pick up what is on his list and what is on yours.
  4. Student notes: Share notes between classmates, share other files such as the syllabus (you know you always lose yours), coordinate study guides with each member adding information to the notes section.

It’s time to start sharing again. If you have more questions about how to share using Power.ME, see our user guide.

Image by Stuart Miles via FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *