Advanced Collaboration Options

Return to the Web User Guide

If you are sharing a large number of tasks, projects, and documents, you and your team may discover that you want to be able to fine-tune your collaboration. Perhaps the person you’re sharing a project with just needs to know what is going on, but doesn’t need to see that project in his or her Due Date and Priority lists. If that’s the case, use Power.ME’s Roles options.

Using Basic Roles

Roles defaults to basic options: Can Edit and View Only. When you share items normally, you give the individual you are saying with a Can Edit role. This means the item you share will appear in that individual’s Due Date and Priority lists and they can edit the item, comment on the item, and mark it as Ready for Review.

  • To change an individual’s role, start assigning the task as you normally would (by adding a team member’s email address or adding them from your contacts list).
  • Click the silhouette icon to the right of their name.
  • Click View Only (this will allow your team member to view and comment on the item, but they won’t have to see it in their Due Date or Priority lists).
  • Click Done (in the lower right corner of the Roles window) and then click Done again (in the lower right corner of the Assign window). Either continue editing the item details or click Save (in the lower right corner of the item details window).

Using Advanced Roles

Basic Roles may not give you the flexibility you want in your collaboration, so there are advanced options as well.

  • To enable advanced roles, start by assigning the task as you normally would (by adding a team member’s email address or adding them from your contacts list).
  • Click the silhouette icon to the right of their name.
  • Click the On button next to Advanced Roles (right below the name or address of the person you’re sharing with).

Afterwards you’ll have a set of five roles you can assign to your team members. Click the appropriate role, then click Done (in the lower right corner of the screen) to return to the Assign window. The five roles have different permissions and responsibilities assigned to them:

  • Administrator: For the shared item the administrator can view and comment; add tasks, project/folders and documents; edit the note, start and due dates, and priority/highlight; share and view the item in Due Date and Priority/Highlight lists; edit or delete assignments; and mark the item as Complete.
  • Responsible Party: For the shared item the Responsible Party is identical to the Can Edit basic role. The individual can view and comment; add tasks, projects/folders and documents; edit the note, start and due dates, and priority/highlight; and share and view in Due Date and Priority/Highlight lists.
  • Collaborator: A collaborator can view and comment; add tasks, projects/folders and documents/ and edit the note, start and due dates, and priority/highlight.
  • Contributor: A contributor can view and comment and add tasks, projects/folders and documents.
  • Interested Party: An Interested Party is identical to the View Only basic role. They can only view and comment on the item.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *